Hiring with Homerun is even more flexible! With hiring team roles, you can manage what each team member can do at the job level, giving you more control and clarity across your hiring process.
What are Hiring team roles?
Hiring team roles define what actions a team member can take, and what information they can see within a specific job opening. This means you can assign someone full access to one job, and limited access to another, depending on their role in each hiring team.
When adding someone to a hiring team, you can choose from these 5 roles:
🧢 Job lead
Is responsible for this job and is the main point of contact for the hiring team. There can only be one job lead per job. When you create a job, you are automatically set as job lead, but this can be changed once you add other team members.
A job lead always has full access to the job. Making someone else the job lead automatically moves the previous lead back to Full access, you don't need to manually update two people.
What they can do:
Everything Full access can do
Appears at the top of the hiring team list
Notes:
Someone with a pending invitation cannot be made job lead until they accept
Job lead can be assigned from the hiring team settings, the team management page, or when adding an existing colleague to a hiring team
⚾️ Full Access
Can do everything in a job, including editing, managing candidates, publishing, and changing settings. Perfect for recruiters who need to administrate the whole hiring process.
What they can do:
Edit job details
Manage hiring process
Manage hiring team
Archive and delete jobs
Edit job post and apply form
Manage publishing
View job insights
View and edit candidates
Add and delete candidates
Send emails to candidates
Schedule events
Move candidates through stages
Disqualify and requalify candidates
Leave reviews and comments
👥 Can hire
Can edit all candidates, move stages, disqualify, email, review, and comment. They don't have access to the job post and apply form editors. Perfect for hiring managers focused on candidate management.
What they can do:
View job insights
View and edit candidates
Add and delete candidates
Send emails to candidates
Schedule events
Move candidates through stages
Disqualify and requalify candidates
Leave reviews and comments
What they can't do:
Edit job details
Manage hiring process
Archive or delete jobs
Manage publishing
Edit job post or apply form (view only)
⭐ Can review
Can view candidates, leave reviews, and add comments. Ideal for team members who only need to review profiles and contribute to evaluations.
What they can do:
View candidates (view only)
View events (view only)
Leave reviews and comments
What they can't do:
Edit job details
Manage hiring process
Archive or delete jobs
Manage publishing
Edit job post or apply form (view only)
View job insights
Add or delete candidates
Send emails to candidates
Move candidates through stages
Disqualify or requalify candidates
Note: Can review users don't receive email-related notifications.
✏️ Can create
Can edit and publish the job post. Can't access candidates. Perfect for those assigned to help designing and promoting the vacancy, but are not involved in the hiring process.
What they can do:
Edit job post and apply form
Manage publishing
View job details (view only)
What they can't do:
Edit job details
Manage hiring process
Archive or delete jobs
View job insights
Access candidates in any way
Permissions table
| 🎯 Job lead | ⚾️ Full access | 👥 Can hire | ⭐ Can review | ✏️ Can create |
Job management |
|
|
|
|
|
Edit job details | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | No ❌ | View only |
Manage hiring | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | No ❌ | No ❌ |
Manage hiring team | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | View only | View only | View only |
Archive and delete jobs | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | No ❌ | No ❌ |
Content |
|
|
|
|
|
Edit job post | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | View only | View only | Yes ✅ |
Edit apply form | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | View only | View only | Yes ✅ |
Manage publishing | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | No ❌ | Yes ✅ |
View job insights | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | No ❌ |
Candidate access |
|
|
|
|
|
View and edit | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | View only | No access |
Add and delete | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | N/A |
Send emails | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | N/A |
Schedule events | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | View only | N/A |
Move through stages | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | N/A |
Disqualify and requalify | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | No ❌ | N/A |
Reviews and comments | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | Yes ✅ | N/A |
Notes
Notifications: Can review users don't receive email-related notifications. Can create users don't receive candidate-related notifications. All other roles receive notifications without restrictions.
All candidates permission: If a user has the All candidates company permission enabled, they can access a restricted view of candidate profiles via the general Candidates page, even if they can't access them in a job. They'll only see basic profile details — not hiring process details, reviews, or comments.
What changed?
Job-level permissions are no longer set at the company level.
Previously, job access was partially controlled by company-level permissions like "Job post editor". Now, all job-related permissions are assigned per job using the roles above.
Changes for Admins
All Admins always have full access to all jobs, regardless of their assigned role in a hiring team. Changing someone from Admin to User removes access to jobs they're not assigned to and may affect some company-level permissions. Check the Preparing for an upcoming feature article for more details.
FAQs
Do I need to update my team now?
Nope! If you're happy with your current setup, you don't need to do anything. Admins still have full access to all jobs automatically. Make sure to check what changed for Admins here. If you'd like to adjust access, you can do so any time from Team Management.
Can I assign different roles per job?
Yes. A team member can be Full access on one job and Can review on another.
Can there be more than one job lead per job?
No, only one person can be job lead at a time. Making someone else the lead automatically moves the previous lead back to Full access.
What happens when I create a new job?
You're automatically set as job lead. You can change this once you've added other team members
Does this affect how hiring teams are created?
No. The way you assign team members to hiring teams stays the same, you’ll just choose their role when adding them.
Has anything changed for my team, or do they need to do anything?
No changes needed. All team members still have access to everything they previously had, nothing has been removed or reset.
Have questions?
Click the chat icon in the bottom right corner of your screen and we’ll be happy to help!

